

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 2.00pm on Sunday 9th July 2023

No.	Item	Description
1.	Welcome & Introduction	The Chair, Stephen Rapkin (SR), welcomed everyone to the 63 rd AGM and declared the meeting open. Stephen also explained that voting would be done by a show of hands. The following special guests were welcomed individually: District Commissioner: Paul Thorogood District Secretary: Peter Wright
2.	Apologies for absence	Apologies from Marion Hoare who sent her best wishes to all the young people of the Group, especially the winners of the Mark Hoare awards.
3.	Review and approval of minutes of 2022 AGM	2022 AGM minutes have been available for review and previously reviewed in Exec meeting (Jan 2023). Meeting approved minutes.
4.	Transformation: Changing from an Executive Committee to a Trustee Board	 Constitution: Scouts UK has reviewed the governance structure of Scouting and is introducing a change to better reflect the role of the executives as trustees. The Executive Committee is now to be called the Trustees Board. Transitioning to a more team-based way of organising scouting. There will still be a DC, GSL, etc but the names of these roles are to be changed to reflect that teams are organising scouting. Volunteering – it is going to become easier for everyone to encourage more volunteers.
5.	Approval of Constitution	Constitution adopted and approved.
6.	Approval and Nomination of Chair	Chair: Stephen Rapkin Nominated by Dom Moloney (GSL). Meeting agreed.
7.	Resolutions	Definition of quorum for meetings Group Trustee Board: One of Chair or GSL to attend, plus 4 other members of the Group Exec Committee. AGM: One of Chair or GSL to attend, plus 10 other members or the Group Scout Council. Group Scouters Meeting: GSL and 3 other Group Scouters (section leaders). Churches Liaison Committee: One of Chair or GSL, one church rep and one other Churches Liaison Committee member. For all of these meetings, delegates will count towards the quorum for all members except Chair. GSL may only delegate to an AGSL or DGSL. Target membership of Trustee Board: Ex officio roles plus 4 elected members and 4 nominated members. Meeting passed all Resolutions.
8.	Election of officers	Secretary: Wei Jia Nominated by Ken Lowe, seconded by Dom Moloney.

		Meeting agreed.
		Treasurer: Ed Byrne Nominated by Nigel Bailey, seconded by Ken Lowe. Meeting agreed.
		GSL (Dom Moloney) & Assistant/Deputy GSL (Ken Lowe) sit as ex officio members as do church reps (John Ford (URC) & John Goddard (Baptist Church))
		Note section leaders have opted not to take their ex officio roles this year.
		Elected Members (4/4): Lauren Moran: Community Liaison Nominated by Stephen Rapkin Seconded by Dom Moloney
		James Wright: Website, Data Control Nominated by Alison Jiggins, Seconded by Lauren Moran. Meeting agreed.
		Jenny Simms: Communications, Branding Nominated by Ken Lowe Seconded by Dom Moloney. Meeting agreed.
		Mayank Seth: Buildings, H&S, Stategy Nominated by Heather Browne Seconded by Nicky Nisbett. Meeting agreed.
		Nominated Members (1/4): Nigel Bailey: Recruitment, Retention, Awards Nominated by GSL Meeting agreed.
		Scrutineer appointed: Amy Empson Meeting agreed.
7.	Financial Review	All votes were passed with a large majority with no votes against in any case. Summary of the Finance report and accounts (available for review within Annual Report).
7.	Fillancial Review	
	Group Scout Leaders Report	GSL gave a review of the year and highlighted the following:
8.		Success - the group achieved over 800 nights away this year and 36 Chief Scouts Awards.
		Leaders Commendations: Bernice Benfold – recognised for 20 years in scouting.
		Growth – Last year the group grew a Squirrels drey in response in the local area for people to access scouting.
		Ambition - International Trip to Normandy involving Scouts, Cubs and Beavers.
		GSL thanked the following: Leaders, Trustee Board, District, fellow leaders in other groups, local businesses and not least the long-suffering partners and families of Leaders.
9.	Recruitment Drive – Nigel Bailey	There are currently urgent vacancies on the Trustee Board in the following roles: Cub Leader (Incas) Quartermaster End of camps – reorganising equipment

		Helping with annual events such as the AGM & late night shopping.
10.	Awards: Mark Hoare Award – presentations	DM introduced the Mark Hoare Awards; awarded to the Beaver, Cub and Scout judged by the leaders to best reflect scouting values – integrity, respect, care, belief and cooperation. The awards were presented by our Honorary President, Neville Wilson. The young people each received a trophy, book token and special blanket badge. - Squirrels: whole drey awarded for completing the first year at 5th SW Scouts Beavers: Friday Ferrets – Florence Chivers Wednesday Weasels – Mark Ford - Cubs: Aztecs – Noah Wiseman Incas – Luke Furse - Scouts: Apollo & Orion – Amy Howard Scorpius – Charlie Hornigold Chief Scout Awards Bronze – Joey Howitt & Florence Chivers Gold – Felix Butterworth Presentations and recognition also went to: Jon Moore – outgoing Treasurer Balaam family – for hosting multiple canoeing events. Lucy Wiseman – for hosting multiple events such as axe-throwing and archery.
11.	Close	